dearly departed

You are not here today because I cannot save you. Nobody could’ve.

No needle, no pill, not even love, could’ve tricked the gods, they simply prefer you closer to where their thrones are.

While I watch the furnace pound your mortal vessel to ashes, a prayer is the least I could do but that I did not even whisper. My sobs were angry screams instead because I wanted to hold your hand but can’t.

So dearly departed, we are gathered here today because we lost. To what, I still can’t tell. They say you are in a better place- was it you who made this world so good then?

Sometimes I envy the gods, all they have to do is watch. Mortals can only weep and hurt.

Now you’re in a jar and I am somewhere far- still processing, slowly forgiving, sometimes wishing we could trade places.

Leave a comment